Announcing Squad Showcases: A monthly Show-and-Tell!

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f0f2bd36670>

Dear Community,

We’ve heard overwhelmingly positive feedback about the idea of a monthly Squad Showcase. Each squad will show-and-tell the community what they’ve been up to, what’s coming next, and hear questions and feedback.

:smiley:When is the first one? The first Squad Showcase will be on Thursday August 13 - since July/August is a strange time of year with vacations, this combines the July/August end-of-month demos, with the next one to come at the end of September. Mid-August is also especially good timing due to soon-to-be released work in OCL for OpenMRS, FHIR2 module, and other squads who have lots of recent work to share. Time: 6:30pm IST | 4pm Nairobi | 3pm Cape Town | 1pm UTC | 9am Boston | 6am Seattle.

:movie_camera:How should I/my squad prepare? All Squads would need to prep to do a ~10 minute demo and explanation (pictures, screenshots, and/or pre-recorded demos are great too). This could be particularly great timing to prime peoples’ interest in the soon-to-come OCL for OpenMRS, FHIR2, and Micro Frontend releases. Everyone else - bring questions and enthusiasm! :slight_smile:

:spiral_calendar:When will we normally have Squad Showcases? Normally these will be the last Thursday of each month at 1 or 2pm UTC. (You can see these pre-booked in the auto-updating OpenMRS Calendar.)

:thinking:Why Thursdays? Based on responses to the previous poll on Talk, and the fact that many implementers have end-of-sprint etc meetings on Fridays, and few people are available Friday evenings in other time zones.

:world_map:Where? Join from computer or mobile: https://iu.zoom.us/j/98556593352 We will record these calls and share the highlights widely. We’ll announce more information here and on the GDHN closer to Aug 13.

@dkayiwa @burke @jennifer @ibacher @herbert24 @gcliff @sharif @mozzy @bashir @akimaina @bistenes @jdick @nkimaina @ccwhite23 @michaelbontyes @ball @ddesimone @mogoodrich @wanyee @ssmusoke @christine @k.joseph @mksd @dmunson - Please CC others likely to be interested :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Reminder: Our first monthly Squad Showcase is coming this Thursday ! :tada:

Time: 6:30pm IST | 4pm Nairobi | 3pm Cape Town | 1pm UTC | 9am Boston | 6am Seattle, at https://iu.zoom.us/j/98556593352.

2 Likes