Recommendations for Project Setup During Implementation

This is a follow up to my earlier post:

I figured that it is too vague and probably too broad for the audience there. So I am focusing a more technical question for this community here.

I am going to be supporting multiple OpenMRS installations, which will involve writing and customizing modules, building forms etc which has currently been done but with no version control and management so there is no way to know what is currently installed in the field and how to improve it.

What approach do I use for the following, which may be different projects (since I am an OpenMRS newbie):

1. Form Customization - building new forms and updating existing ones

2. Module development and customization - building new modules and probably customizing existing ones

3. Managing deployment information - How can I maintain a repo of the modules I have to install, SQL configuration scripts, and data (dictionaries and concepts) etc, so that I can routinely and reliably contribute to the installations.

Thanks in a advance for your help, and in return I promise to dedicate time to share on my experiences as I move along.

1 Like

Hi Stephen,

For form customization, you are most certainly going to create your own forms.

For module development and customization it depends on what you are attempting to solve, you have to say exactly what it is so that others can propose an existing module or if you have to write one from scratch.

You can actually import metadata like concepts from existing implementations if it applies to your projects, Concept sharing has been involving in OpenMRS, so there is a couple of modules that you can use to import metadata from other sources. The CIEL concept dictionary is a good start point for a set of concepts you might be able to use out of the box.