Open Community Conversations: Onboarding and partnering with organizations

Earlier this year, we took a closer look at our talent pipeline, with a specific focus on how we were onboarding newcomers to the community and what we might do to retain and grow promising new community members. Recognizing that our squad model introduced additional onboarding needs, we came up with our Flight Paths.

My thoughts keep turning to our squads and onboarding from yet another perspective: organizations.

Since 2019, we’ve seen greater engagement and contributions from more and more organizations. Opportunities for collaboration & thus new squads continue to emerge.

And more and more organizations are interested in contributing to the community.

Imagine what we can create and sustain as a community if organizations had clearer guidance about contributing to our squads and teams, especially those implementing OpenMRS, who share our mission and want to work alongside us.

It’s time to look at how we can attract, engage, and partner with organizations more effectively.

Here are a few opportunities to dive into this topic:

Open Source Project & Global Good Partnership Models

We know that seeking out multiple perspectives can lead us to new ideas and better solutions. With that in mind, I gathered information from five other open source projects and global goods about their partnership programs.

Join the conversations on Talk or on Zoom at:

  • Thursday, 14 October at 8:30pm IST | 6pm Nairobi | 5pm Cape Town | 3pm UTC | 11am Boston | 8am Seattle
  • Thursday, 21 October at 9:30pm IST | 7pm Nairobi | 6pm Cape Town | 4pm UTC | 12pm Boston | 9am Seattle

OpenMRS Pathway: What does the path look like for organizations who want to increase their contributions?

According to the 2020 Open Source Programs Survey, “Most companies are still early in the open source journey. They consume open source but aren’t yet active in upstream communities.” What does it mean for a company or organization to go from consuming to sharing to coordinating to collaborating contributions to OpenMRS?

Join the conversations on Talk or on Zoom at:

  • Thursday, 21 October at 9:30pm IST | 7pm Nairobi | 6pm Cape Town | 4pm UTC | 12pm Boston | 9am Seattle
  • Thursday, 28 October at 8:30pm IST | 6pm Nairobi | 5pm Cape Town | 3pm UTC | 11am Boston | 8am Seattle
1 Like