No activity of android client openMRS

Hello all, I am new to openMRS community and being an android developer and GSOC 2016 aspirant I am looking forward to contribute for android client for openMRS, I found source code on github(https://github.com/openmrs/openmrs-contrib-android-client) but there is no activity from the side of openMRS community either on github or jira. Please let me know if this project is still active and can I still contribute to this project.I tried to ask at irc several times but I don’t get any response so any help in this direction would be great. Also suggest me any android based project where I can contribute.

Thanks in advance!

So that’s not entirely true – We had a few tasks over the course of Google Code-In. One of the students made an ionic app, which I think should replace both the IOS/Android app, since it unifies the codebases.

Thanks @r0bby. So what do you suggest on point that should I contribute to Android project or its of no use as you are saying ionic app will replace the native apps. Also as much I have worked upon and studied native apps are much more faster as well as rich in features compared to the ionic based app so we should keep that in mind also.

Nothing was officially decided…It’s just my opinion. I’m not the person who can help you out right now. The best bet would be to get in touch with a member of the Guides Team and they can point you in the right direction. I just think a unified codebase for the mobile clients would be a good thing.

In the big picture, the Android Client is still valuable (even though nobody is actively working on it now).

Particularly, here is a list of open issues that people have reported:

https://issues.openmrs.org/issues/?jql=project%20%3D%20AC%20and%20resolution%20is%20empty

@r0bby ok I will contact guides team.Thanks for ur help.