Google Code-in 2017 Student and Mentor meet and greet

Hello and welcome to all prospective participants in Google Code-in at OpenMRS!

Please share more info on:

• Where you’re from,
  • What you found interesting about Google Code-in and/or OpenMRS,
  • If you participated in Google Code-in during the previous years, and
  • Some of your interests (technology or otherwise!)

We look forward to getting to know you and all the other participants over the next few months! Please use this thread only for introductions and keep conversations on the gci telegram channel.

5 Likes

I will start first.

My name is Ivange Larry. I’m a computer engineering student from the University of Buea, Cameroon. I’ve been part of OpenMRS for 2 years. I did my first Google Summer of Code here and was GCI 2016 mentor. This year I’ll be your admin together with @bholagabbar. We ensure the program runs smoothly for you.

5 Likes

Since I’m co-admin, I’ll go second :slight_smile:

I’m Shreyans, a former GSoC student and mentor at OpenMRS. Much like @ivange94, I’ve been contributing as a student developer at OpenMRS since the past 2 years. I’ve learnt a ton of great stuff on my journey contributing to OpenMRS from writing solid code, reading huge codebases and software engineering best practices. Some of the best opportunities that have come my way are because of Open Source and OpenMRS means the world to me. Read more about my work and me at shreyanssheth.com

We’ll try our best to make sure you enjoy your open source journey with OpenMRS through GCI this year. Cheers!

7 Likes

Hey everyone!