Volunteer of the Month-JUNE

Let’s hear it for Deepak! He has been nominated by the community as June’s Volunteer of the Month! This month, we received Nine nominations for Volunteer of the Month - and Five of them were for Deepak Prasad. You may recognize him by his OpenMRS ID, @deepak140596

We want to acknowledge his work and commitment to the OpenMRS community, so we asked him a few questions about himself and the different ways he is involved in our community.

What is your Name?

My name is Deepak Prasad. I go by @deepak140596 on OpenMRS.

Tell us a little about your background

I am Deepak Prasad from India. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from Heritage Institute of Technology, Kolkata, India. I am a passionate Android Developer and my love for Android started with attending various national-level hackathons.

When did you start with OpenMRS

I started contributing to OpenMRS from March,2019 after the announcement of organisations for GSoC 2019. It was my first contribution to an Open-Source project.

@f4ww4z, my mentor during GSoC 2019, has helped me a lot since my first contribution. He guided me and helped me even in trivial problems. He has constantly pushed me to become a better version of myself.

Coming from an average college where Open-Source contribution has never been heard of, I wish I knew it existed during my earlier years in college.

This awesome community made me a better developer and I still have loads to learn.

How do you participate in the community (What activities, projects, role, etc)

I am currently contributing to OpenMRS Android Client, v2.8+ for GSoC 2019. I am creating patches, fixing bugs and adding new features to the Android App .

I have also created tickets for new features or bugs that I encountered during testing of the app. From time to time I try to review some Pull Requests of my peers.

What drives or inspires you to work with OpenMRS