Using OpenMRS in clinical research & some technical questions

Application Name: Reference Application Version Number: 1.11.6

Question: Hi there!

I am a med student charged with collecting clinical and patient data for clinical research in my institution in Italy. I set up an installation of OpenEMR on a virtualized server and so far we are using it without major problems, but the cluttered interface, the amount of features we don’t need and the tricky configuration process made me want to search for something simpler and to leave OpenEMR to physicians who really need all the features provided.

So I came upon OpenMRS: I tried it in the demo and I was astonished. Our work is based on visits, so a traditional and simple installation would suffice, and the relevant data would be collected by using the visit module or by setting up a module of our own, since the system - from what I understand - makes it quite easy.

Problem is, I only have basic Java programming capabilities and I have absolutely no experience in setting up a server. I struggled for weeks just to make the virtualized server on which I run OpenEMR accessible from the outside, so, even if I am willing to give OpenMRS a try, I can’t afford to spend much time learning a new system. I don’t expect such a complex thing to get plug and play, but I would love to have an idea of the steps and the path that lie in front of me if I choose to set it up.

As I see it now, there are two possibilities:

• installing a standalone version of OpenMRS on my laptop, which is a 2012 Apple MacBook Pro, and bringing it with me every time I need to collect data;
  • setting up an OpenMRS installation so I can access it over the Internet from the hospital’s machines, leaving the program sitting in a virtual server running at home and reachable behind my router.