System design for an OpenMRS server and Android implementation

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fe2e17601a8>

Brief introduction

Hello everybody! I am a telecommunication engineering student and I’m currently working in a project called Blood Pressure Under Pressure. It consists in an implementation of OpenMRS and OpenMRS Android Client for hypertension detection and prevention in remote areas with little or null signal coverage. Here you can check the project website: http://bpup.eu/

Currently, the system works following this schema:

The tensiometer sends data via bluetooth and the Android app keeps all the patient data. Once appears signal, the app sends all the data to the OpenMRS server.

System Design (So far…)

Pros

• The app, is a modification from the official OpenMRS Android Client release v2.6.1. So basic functionalities are already implemented.

Cons

• Android app is based on the OpenMRS Android Client. That means that we just took the official Android Client at some point ( release 2.6.1) and started to make modifications on the current version of the app, which now is an old version.

• In the app we “just” need the following features:

• Bluetooth communication between the Android device and the tensiometer
    • Forms management.
    • Database for patients.
    • Communication with OpenMRS instances using REST.

But the old-modified official client offers a lot of “unnecessary features” that we don’t really need and only make the code more complicated.

• We have to care about small (or not that small) issues (here can be checked) of the app already solved in more recent versions of the Official Client.

Current Situation

At that time, we have achieved what we could say is the “MVP” (Minimum Value Product). The app accomplish the most basic requirements that it should have, which are:

• Administration of patients database.
  • Form management.
  • Bluetooth communication with the tensiometer.
  • Basic implementation of the treatment algorithm.