SDK Installer GUI Project Idea

Hello! I belong to a group of students who would like to get peoples’ input on an idea for a feature.

Idea Our group wanted to know if people would like to have a GUI installer developed (nothing too fancy mind you) for the OpenMRS SDK.

Context I am a student from the University of Nebraska Lincoln. In our Software Engineering class (261) we have been working with/around OpenMRS for a while (perhaps you’ve seen a couple of our posts). For the next 7 weeks, we have been given tasks to improve OpenMRS through documentation, testing and bugs/features. For our group’s feature implementation, we thought it might be a good idea to develop an installer for the OpenMRS SDK.

Justification We came up with a few reasons why this might be helpful

1. The process for installing the SDK may seem a little long/convoluted and could be automated. While working on starting a test module, several people in our class found difficulty even installing OpenMRS. While in hindsight the process is not as difficult as initially thought, it is deceptively so at first which brings me into…
  2. Google Summer of Code! With many new young coders taking a look at OprnMRS this summer, streamlining many of the more tedious processes, and making students feel confident they’re ready to code can be quite important. A frustrating installation can easily turn into a horrible experience.