Recommending Jayasanka Weerasinghe for /dev/3

I’d like to suggest promoting @jayasanka to /dev/3 in recognition of his remarkably dedicated efforts in our DHIS2 integration suite, specifically the DHIS2 Connector module and applying this in our COVID Squad. Since I’m not a dev expert, I’m recommending Jayasanka with @dkayiwa’s expert blessing. :slight_smile:

He’s worked really hard as a developer. From the beginning his GSOC blog posts were really clear. His well-written posts are actually what helped me find out about his work, follow what he was doing, and eventually we realized it was a great fit to bring his GSOC work into the COVID squad - and this ended up leading to substantial upgrades to the DHIS2 Connector module.

But he’s gone even more above and beyond. Here are just a few examples:

• Product Planning: He prioritized a backlog of work tasks and led clearly organized sprints leading to efficient upgrade releases of the module.
  • Leadership: He recruited, onboarded, and supported new contributors all the way through successfully contributing to the DHIS2 Connector module, and releasing new upgrades together.
  • User Communication & Wireframes: He communicated well with implementers on Talk with clear questions and beautiful sketches to try and clarify their real needs in the field.
  • Championing the Product: He created an engaging product demo video that briefly but effectively communicates the value of the work for real implementers (this also ended up being our most-viewed OpenMRS video in all of 2020).
  • Pushing ahead to understand requirements when things are unclear: All this came from his very hard work figuring out the needs between OpenMRS and DHIS2, finding his way through a GSOC project that didn’t originally have much project description.

By engaging in such a wide range of skills, Jayasanka has shown the qualities of being both a team player and a product team leader.