openmrs should support postgresql

Hello everyone. I am a third year student going through my undergraduate computer engineering programme. I am planning to take the following task for gsoc2020.

I have already gone through the talk thread discussing this issue.Can anyone please provide some resources or a starting point so that I can get started and get more insight into this problem?

Any help is welcomed :slightly_smiling_face:

@dkayiwa @jwnasambu , can you guys give your views?

I am glad you have interest in this project. Did you get a chance of looking at the timeline on this link GSoC 2020: Warm up practices for students? between now and 17th May, Kindly be working on the introduction tickets to increase on your chances to be selected to work on this project at the same time get familiar with how the community operates.

Thanks for your response. I have been working on a few tickets for the past month and it is a great learning experience for me under the guidance of experienced members of OPENMRS. :slightly_smiling_face:

Currently I am going through my University exams, so can’t code till 6 March. So if there were some resources or docs I should go through , that could help in gaining more insight into the problem and preparing the proposal.

Am glad to hear of your contribution just keep doing it. Concerning the the Docs and resources, feel free to google around from different sources. I for one I don’t have a specific one to share right now may be @dkayiwa but with time I will . Success in your exams.

Have you even tried to run OpenMRS on PostgreSQL?

No, I haven’t uptill now. Liquibase is new for me so I am going through it but I will as early as possible and share my findings.

I am trying to run openmrs on postgresql but am getting error.

I have done the following:

1. Added the maven dependency for postgresql.