OpenMRS FHIR workflow

Hey all,

I am new to Open MRS. I am interested in taking datas from open emrs through FHIR. Can anyone please give me a work flow reg how to install the fhir add ons and take the datas through fhir using postman.

Also I haven’t installed open mrs yet on my pc . Kindly let me know the peoper installation fllow on Ubuntu os.

Hi @aravindh , Thank you for your interest towards using Openmrs EMR,

https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/docs/Installing+OpenMRS+on+Docker

I have shared the link above which you will need to follow while installing Openmrs instance on your local machine. Please me know when it’s running then I can guide you through FHIR endpoints.

Hey @abertnamanya , Thank you for the quick response. I will try installing it and update you.

1 Like

Hey @abertnamanya i have installed docker on my ubuntu, Kindly suggest me what options should i choose from the below picture and how to install it using docker.

You can take Option 3

Hey @mozzy thank you for the response. Can you just explain me how to create a direct docker compose to install latest version of Open Mrs on docker and getting datas through fhir.

Jusy guide me how the .yml file should be an what are all the parameters to be changed and how to install it. It will be a great help for me.

Create a file docker-compose.yml in any directory of your choice. and paste the contents of the docker-compose.yml as described in the attached link above. then run sudo docker-compose up

1 Like

Hey @abertnamanya I have got it running on docker. Thank you so much for your guidance. Just have one more doubt, I have run the comand docker-compose up and its running, it will not run if the terminal is stopped right and it took around 40 mins to compose, how to keep it running or rerun it whenever necessary?

And also is it necessary to have kvm for docker desktop?

Thanks in advance.

docker compose up -d runs it in the background