May 2017 Volunteer of the Month: Cintia Del Rio

I’m happy to announce that the community has selected Cintia Del Rioas the Volunteer of the Month for May! We are really lucky to have Cintia working with us. Thank you for your commitment to OpenMRS Cintia!

Name: Cintia

My openmrs ID@cintiadr

Tell us a little about your background: I’ll keep it short and sweet! I graduated in computer science in my hometown, Curitiba, a city in the south of Brazil. I started my career as a C++ developer :D. I moved to Java development for quite a while, and I accidentally ended up in a DevOps team at Atlassian when I moved to Sydney/Australia. Fast forward 5 years, and I’m still devops’ing in Sydney and loving it :slight_smile:

When did you start with OpenMRS: apparently I joined the community on 13th Feb 2014!

How did you get interested in OpenMRS: my hubby (boyfriend back then) was contributing to OpenMRS as a java developer, and he convinced me that I could help OpenMRS :love_letter: And here I am.

How do you participate in the community: I’m part of infrastructure team (helping with the community resources like talk, wiki, issue tracker, quite a few services up and running), and I also help with CI/CD automation (think about release and deployment) and any other devops/infrastructure on the way. You probably see me a lot answering tickets on helpdesk too.

What are your favorite things to do in your free time: Traveling! :smiley:

What’s your favorite OpenMRS moment or tell us what makes OpenMRS special to you: I suppose the reason why I decided to join and I stayed is because it’s a very kind and welcoming community. People are really here to help – which is particularly different of so many other open source communities.

10 Likes

Congrats @cintiadr! We’re fortunate to have you! Thanks!

1 Like

Congrats @cintiadr! Well deserved and keep up the great work.

1 Like

Volunteer of the year, I’d say! Thanks @cintiadr! :champagne:

2 Likes

Congrats @cintiadr.

1 Like