LuceneQuery issue: Referencing attribute of an object

Hi everyone,

Intro: I am new to the OpenMRS project and need some help regarding the creation of a Lucene query in the core. I hope someone can point me to a helpful link, example or explain to me the best approach. Thank you!

Issue: I am currently working on a ticket that aims to fix a bug in the PatientService implementation (TRUNK-5395). My approach to fix this issue is to adapt a LuceneQuery to return only the PatientIdentifier objects where a specific constraint is matched. The call looks like the following:

patientIdentifierLuceneQuery.include("identifierType.patientIdentifierTypeId", identifierType.getId()); (GitHub)

The PatientIdentifier class itself has an attribute called identifierType of the type PatientIdentifierType GitHub Link. This attribute is referenced inside the LuceneQuery I am creating.

However, I am interested in the value of an attribute of this particular object, which is called patientIdentifierTypeId. (api/src/main/java/org/openmrs/PatientIdentifierType.java#L60) --> hence identifierType.patientIdentifierTypeId

In the end, I am trying to restrict the returned objects to only the once which have as attribute an identifierType, that has as patientIdentifierTypeId a certain Integer value. However, this restriction does not seem to work and I a seem to struggle to find a way to define a constraint that restricts the value of an attribute that is itself an object.

Does someone has an idea how I can define such a constraint?

Shouldn’t it be?

patientIdentifierLuceneQuery.include("patientIdentifierTypeId", identifierType.getId());

Since this is already a LuceneQuery.newQuery(PatientIdentifier.class, ...) you should reference members directly, and patientIdentifierTypeId is right there in PatientIdentifier.

hi @mksd, Thank you for your support :slight_smile:

the link you shared is pointing to patientIdentifierId and not to patientIdentifierTypeId (See here