January Volunteer of the Month: Samuel Male!

Congratulations to @samuel34, who has been nominated by his peers as January’s Volunteer of the Month! Nine community members were nominated by 12 people to be January’s Volunteer of the Month - and he received three separate nominations!

We want to acknowledge Samuel’s work and commitment to the OpenMRS community, so we asked him a few questions about himself and the different ways he is involved in our community.

Samuel, tell us a little about your background.

I’m Samuel Male. I’m a second year student of Computer Information Systems at Bugema University in Uganda. Like I said, I’m actually still a student. So out of OpenMRS, I am in school mostly.

When and how did you start with OpenMRS?

Well, I remember it was back in 2017 before I even joined University; I was mentored by @dkayiwa to self-teach myself programming and hence inspired to join the community as a developer.

How do you participate in the community?

I mostly contribute code. This is by working on tickets. I also

• Do Code Review

• Help others on Talk and IRC

• Participated in OMRS18

• Attend Project Management Calls

I have been Platform Release Manager and done many releases, including RefApp releases. As a GSoC student, I created a module (Merge Patient Data) and then became GCI mentor in 2018. Now I mentor many of my counterparts about OpenMRS. I spread the news about OpenMRS down this side. :smile:

What drives or inspires you to work with OpenMRS?

I love it’s ecosystem, which is so welcoming to even newbies. I remember when I joined in 2017, I didn’t even know what “MySQL” was! But I was warmly welcomed, and all my questions (even trivial ones) were answered.

What are your favorite things to do in your free time?

I’m a soccer fan. I loosely like Arsenal though at times its heart breaking! I also like watching crime (conspiracies) series and cybercrime movies. Those motivate me a lot in where the world is leading in technology!