How to develop custom module and rest api

Application Name: Platform
Version Number: 2.4.3 Build 0ff0ed

Question: I’m new to Openmrs. I’m trying create my own module. I already looked these articles
Creating Your First Module - Documentation - OpenMRS Wiki
Creating Modules - Documentation - OpenMRS Wiki
Making Your First Module · GitBook

With these articles i already developed basic module. now i need to know how to connect this module to database and retrieve data? please help me? thanks in advance.

Dear @abayomi Here is the link that will guide you on the general overview about the rest module Adding a Web Service Step by Step Guide for Core Developers - Documentation - OpenMRS Wiki

Thanks for the reply. I’m receiving error.

it’s showing java.sql.SQLSyntaxErrorException: Unknown column ‘this_.changed_by’ in ‘field list’ but i cannot find the place.

my code: - package org.openmrs.module.basicexample.web.controller;import org.springfram - Pastebin.com

please help me to fix this.

Your Item class its supposed to inherit all attributes from BaseOpenmrsData in the liquibase file. since your extending BaseOpenmrsData

Thanks for the reply. how can i save record. I tried post request to http://localhost:8080/openmrs/ws/rest/v1/item but it showing me

Request processing failed; nested exception is org.openmrs.module.webservices.rest.web.response.ResourceDoesNotSupportOperationException

It means your missing out the save method in the controller that does post payload from the endpoint to the database: Take a look at this for-example openmrs-module-webservices.rest/DrugResource1_8.java at fa0e04d6cde6e3a7f55a672217b2419257692ee6 · openmrs/openmrs-module-webservices.rest · GitHub

Do you mind sharing the link to the repository so that I could have a look at where your going wrong.

Thanks for the reply. here is the code.

Try autowiring the service in the ItemResource class

@Autowired
BasicexampleService basicexampleService;

then on save method try out this