Dockerizing Bahmni

Hey there,

please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Wolf and I am a software developer employed by ThoughtWorks. Having finished a larger piece of work for OpenMRS last year I was looking for the next topic and had a chat with @gsluthra who suggested looking into dockerizing Bahmni.

There are different approaches to running Bahmni and OpenMRS (standalone) on Docker, namely

With this post I would like to start a discussion about which principles and guidelines to follow when dockerizing Bahmni.

As a starting point, please allow me to share a few ideas:

• Provide official docker images for all components that make up Bahmni.
  • These docker images are released by the respective community, i.e. OpenMRS folks publish docker images for OpenMRS, OpenELIS do the same for their product.
    • The docker images can be built locally to support development and testing.
    • Images that are built locally are not intended to be used in production.
  • The docker image for a component should support the extension points and configuration of that component, but not go beyond that.
    • As an example, it should be possible to add OpenMRS modules to a Bahmni distribution.
    • Docker images must not be used for tweaks and fixes, such as adding a table to the OpenMRS database. This should be fully encapsulated by the respective component.
  • A docker based Bahmni distribution contains
    • A docker-compose and .env file
    • A Bahmni distro docker image that contains configuration files only. This image does not contain deployable artefacts of Bahmni components (such as war files).

It would be great to have a chat about this on one of the next PAT calls and agree the next steps.

Thank you, Wolf

7 Likes

@wolf : Thanks a lot for kickstarting this. Some thoughts on Dockerizing Bahmni:

Docker images will be helpful in following situations: