Digital Square Notice F: Request for Applications

Digital Square posted a new RFA for Notice F0, F1, and F2, which focus on implementing the Digital Adaption Kit for ANC (Notice F0), WHO digital documentation of Covid-19 certificates (Notice F1) as well as Shelf Readiness, focusing on building local capacity and teams (Notice F2).

Once again, Digital Square will follow an open application process. Initial Concept Notes are due December 1, 2021.

OpenMRS has a good track record with Digital Square: since 2019, we’ve led two Digital Square awards (Notice D: PLIR, Notice E0: Shelf Readiness for Dictionary Management) and been a sub-contractor on two additional awards (Notice C: Improving QA Tools & Processes, Notice E0: Improving QA for Shelf Readiness and Interoperability), worth a combined total of $237k.

We’d like to find out if there are any members or organizations in the community who are interested in submitting a proposal in any of these three areas with us. We can offer support in any way to get the proposal submitted: brainstorm ideas and approaches, assisting with narratives, thinking through budgets, etc.

@paul @janflowers @grace @burke @hamish @ibacher @akanter @paynejd @jdick @mksd @mseaton @wanyee @christine

2 Likes

Thanks @jennifer.

@MekomSolutions would definitely like to co-apply to F0. We anticipate that this ANC DAK could be translated in our (new) lingo as openmrs-package-anc :slight_smile: (cc @burke)

I have already reviewed the WHO annexes and while there are challenges (notably the CDS part), the overall scope fits well IMO. And while this is not thankfully scoped in and required by F0, we have at least two supported projects that could directly benefit from implementing this package (and at the very least could help UX design it.)

3 Likes

This looks like a great opportunity to add an antenatal package. We at @AMPATH are interested as well!

5 Likes

I agree with @jdick and @mksd that the ANC DAK has come along at an opportune time as we’re starting to get serious about what packaging looks like. It seems like it would be a shame to waste such a perfect opportunity to build something of value for the community.

3 Likes

Partners In Health recently deployed Ob/Gyn in Haiti with good success. As always, we are happy to share all our code. Labor/Partogram is still needed. Anything to further that work would be most helpful. Especially since I think we’ll use MFE (V3).

Can anyone explain “Digital Adaption Kit”?

1 Like

@ball see Digital Adaptation Kit for Antenatal Care: Operational requirements for implementing WHO recommendations in digital systems

1 Like

Fantastic to see not only the interest in using this opportunity to work on an ANC package but in collaborating with us on a proposal!

Here are some suggested next steps to help us move forward with a concept note for DS Notice F0: Implementing the DAK for ANC:

Draft Concept Note

I’ve set up a Google Doc with the Digital Square concept note template.

Here are links to the Notice D, and Notice E0 concept notes in case you’re interested in seeing what past submissions have looked like.

Brainstorming/Writing
We can use a Talk thread and/or the #strategy-operations Slack channel for asynchronous brainstorming & discussion.

It has also been helpful to have a couple of working sessions, one early on in the process and one to review a draft prior to submission. To help us find a time for these sessions, please share your availability using this Doodle poll:

https://doodle.com/poll/snhys43vg57dacfe?utm_source=poll&utm_medium=link

@jdick et al, @jamlung could be a great asset to this effort, given his experience with creating IG’s in maternal/child health for the WHO, familiarity with FHIR, direct experience with OCL, and interest in getting more involved with OpenMRS.

I didn’t see any chatter about this in #strategy-operations. Are there conversations going on about planning a Notice F0 proposal? If so, could someone loop myself and @jamlung into them?

1 Like

@burke AFAIK, all conversations about planning the Notice F0 proposal are happening in this thread right now. We can take it over to Slack any time.

November is a busy month as it is, so I’d like to get a couple of working sessions on the calendar soonest. Please take the Doodle poll by Friday!

Digital Square released the Q&A today.

And it looks like the best time for a working session this week is Friday, November 19 at 10:30pm IST | 8pm Nairobi | 7pm Cape Town | 5pm UTC | 12pm Boston | 9am Seattle.

Click on the icon to add it to your calendar.