Development Environment issues. Spring install. Address already in use.

Having great difficulty getting started. Any help would be appreciated. I have reasonable basic Java SE skills and teach introductory Java course. I have also worked for years on other open-source projects but mostly in C++. I work mostly terminal/vi but have used Eclipse on larger projects. I have never used Maven or J2EE before. Xubuntu 17.10 64-bit.

I initially setup up my development environment using the PDF document openmrs-devmanual (Sept. 2017). I did the manual install instructions. Builds went fine but it did fail a test. However I could run the core application and got the initial screens. However the discovery of the complexity of this application made me realize I needed to use Eclipse to be productive.

In the mean time, I got a welcome message response which directed me to setup my development environment using https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/docs/Step+by+Step+Installation+for+Developers. I followed these instructions to setup a Eclipse environment. This went well except many compile errors indicted by Eclipse. It seems J2EE was needed. I added the jee jar to the project and it fixed those issues. This exposed other errors which seems to have exposed other errors. These seem to be Spring API errors. I have downloaded the Spring “bundle”, which it seems most I do not need. Many jars. I don’t know which one(s). to install.

Going back to my initial manual install (totally separate tree), it stopped running because of an port conflict with port 8080. I noticed Tomcat was using 8080 (which I optionally installed via the manual instructions) and I reconfigured Tomcat to use 8085. Why this install worked originally is quite strange. However when using starting this install (mvn jetty:run), I get this error:

[ERROR] Failed to execute goal org.eclipse.jetty:jetty-maven-plugin:9.3.3.v20150827:run (default-cli) on project openmrs-webapp: Failure: Address already in use -> [Help 1]