Demo Data global property doesn't seem to do anything

Application Name: OpenMRS 2.6.1 Standalone Version Number: 2.6.1

Question: I’m brand new to OpenMRS. I have it installed on a Windows 2012 R2 server. The install seems to go fine, the front-end and back-end are accessible. I am trying to generate additional demo data, which I understand I need to change this global property: referencedemodata.createDemoPatientsOnNextStartup = x, replacing ‘x’ with the number of patients I want to create. I change that value from the GUI (system admin). I then restart by selecting File–>Quit on the console app and then double clicking on the .jar again. When it restarts, I seem to get only 1 more patient in the patient table than the prior run no matter what value I set the global property to.

Few questions:

1. What is the proper way to restart the OpenMRS? Is it File–>Quit and then double click on the jar again?
  2. If I set the referencedemodata.createDemoPatientsOnNextStartup = 250 for example, should I expect to see 250 patients in the patient table after it boots up?
  3. If the answer to (2) is yes, then what could I be doing wrong?

Thanks for any help!!!

Is the referencedemodata module started and running? There could be errors while trying to generate the patients. Can you paste the contents of your log file at pastebin.com?

Should be in the tomcat/logs folder

Thanks for the reply Daniel. The module is unloaded at start, when I load it from the web app admin pages, it appears to throw some errors. The log contents are here

Specifically I see an error “java.lang.IndexOutOfBoundsException: Index: 0, Size: 0”

at org.openmrs.module.referencedemodata.ReferenceDemoDataActivator.createDiagnosisObsGroup(ReferenceDemoDataActivator.java:505)
at org.openmrs.module.referencedemodata.ReferenceDemoDataActivator.createVisitNote(ReferenceDemoDataActivator.java:485)