Contributing to Openmrs documentation.

Hello everyone, I am new to the Openmrs world and so far I find it all very interesting. For a while I have been searching for open source health care platforms to contribute into in my spare time and after searching through about 30 open source platforms, it seems to me that openmrs has the biggest active community and is really being used by hospitals effectively.

I am a developer and additionally have good technical writing and documentation skills. Given the collaborative nature of Openmrs I would like to contribute, preferably from the documentation side initially.

In this regard it will be very helpful if any one can provide some pointers as to where I could get started. That will be very helpful.

Thanks.

5 Likes

Hello, welcome to the community and we look forward to your contribution. We are thinking of coming up with a volunteer’s guide soon under the mentorship of @jennifer. The project and its requirements are on this link. Kindly, feel free to share your views concerning this project.

cc @jennifer

1 Like

@codestar, welcome! We are excited to have you join our community. As @jwnasambu mentioned, we have a project that centers around developing volunteer guides. We also have a number of technical writing projects that are either kicking off soon, looking for someone to pick up, and we’re open to hearing your ideas when it comes to documentation as well.

Aside from Talk, our Wiki is probably one place to start and get a feel for our community (and documentation needs).

What sort of technical writing have you done in the past? Anything in particular that interests you?

1 Like

This is great @codestar, we are happy to have you here. Thanks @jennifer and @jwnasambu.