Bahmni and FHIR

Hello everyone, my name is Armin and I am new to Bahmni. Therefor, I’ve got some questions about Bahmni and FHIR. How is this Product connected to FHIR? Is it possible to fully implement a FHIR-Server “behind” Bahmni? And is FHIR already fully supported or are theire any limitations? Is it possible to expand the FHIR resources, that are already used, easily? And is their already a mapping between the data Bahmni uses and the FHIR standard?

Thank you!

Hi @armin,

Bahmni currently runs on OpenMRS Core 2.1 (see here), meaning that the new FHIR2 module should work fine with it (see here). Having said that the FHIR2 module is not part of the official Bahmni distribution, but again it is up to anyone to just add it.

Currently Bahmni’s frontend doesn’t transact with the backend using FHIR messaging. Refactoring it to do so would be a big deal, but of course it is possible in theory.

(Note: OpenMRS 3.0 does just that following a “FHIR first” approach, have you looked into it?)

Those are not Bahmni-specific questions and all answers are yes. This is the Jira project for the FHIR2 module: Dashboard - OpenMRS Issues

Assuming you would use the FHIR2 module with Bahmni, this “mapping” is taken care of by the module itself.

Hi @mksd,

thanks for your detaild answer. That leads me to two more questions, to understand it better: Does that mean that Bahmni is just a component of OpenMRS? And you said, OpenMRS should work fine with FHIR. What does the system does with FHIR? Sharing messages or documents, or does it also import or export data between a FHIR server and medical device?

I just try to understand the usecase of why FHIR is used within OpenMRS.

Thanks a lot!

Bahmni is a distribution of OpenMRS.