2019-11-20: Data Migration Guidance Forum

Dear Community,

Several implementations in our community are working on solutions for migrating data from legacy systems to OpenMRS, specifically Kenya and Nigeria. As they go down their data migration paths, they have come across a number of different tools and solutions used by others in the community (on our Wiki and on Talk).

Data migration is serious undertaking. When successful, migrating legacy data to a new system preserves access to quality longitudinal data for a variety of needs, ranging from patient care and treatment to case based surveillance to monitoring key trends, such as viral load suppression.

Developing and testing a tool is an important phase of data migration - not the only one. Right now, our documentation and much of our discussion tends to focus on one phase of data migration: developing a tool. But we all know that successful data migration requires a much larger effort and involves many more people.

We’d like to take a shot at expanding our OpenMRS data migration guidance so that reflects the data migration process more fully, from planning to implementation. We’re setting aside some time this week to start talking about what success looks like when it comes to data migration and what implementations should consider planning for at the start. We’ll have some sample guidance available to spur discussion.

Who: Anyone in the community with experience and/or interest in data migration. @morrisng @dkayiwa @wanyee @aojwang @johnbosco @brightoibe @ckemar @akanter

When: Wednesday, 20 November at 6pm Nairobi | 5pm Cape Town | 3pm UTC | 10am Atlanta | 7am Seattle

Where: To join the call by phone, dial +1-888-510-4073. To join the call using Audio, Chat, & Screen Sharing please use a compatible browser (Chrome, Firefox, Edge) and go to: http://www.uberconference.com/openmrs

1 Like

Adding Jim and Joseph.