GSoC 2016 student introductions

Congratulations and welcome to our selected students for Google Summer of Code 2016!

Students, please introduce yourself in this thread. Specifically, let’s hear the following:

• Where are you from?
  • How far along are you in your education? Where are you currently enrolled?
  • Who’s your mentor and what is your project? What’s your project about in a sentence or two?
  • What’s your IRC or Telegram nickname?
  • What is interesting about OpenMRS to you?
  • Tell us one (or more) interesting or fun fact about yourself!
9 Likes

Thanks @surangak!

My name is Avijit Ghosh. I am from Barrackpore, a small town in West Bengal, India.

I am a second year undergraduate student in the Indian Institute of Tecnology, Kharagpur, India. I am currently pursuing a BTech in Chemical Engineering and an MTech in Financial Engineering (combined program), and also trying to minor in Computer Science. I’ve been developing on Android for 4 years now (mostly for fun), and currently am one of the moderators of the OpenMRS Android Client project on JIRA and GitHub with @raff.

@raff is my mentor and @r0bby is the backup mentor for my project: OpenMRS Android Client. This project is mostly about overhauling the look and feel of the app, and add useful features to it, like detailed graphs and collect usage data via Analytics hook. The main task, however is, to replace the XForms system used in the app with custom runtime generated forms using the Forms REST Api and add offline form saving, to help people where internet connectivity is poor.

I am @AvijitGhosh82 on all Social networks. I do not use IRC a lot because of proxy restrictions, but I am in the IRC channel via Telegram.