Design Forum 2019-04-29: Modular Frontend Architecture for OpenMRS

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f29949d0a98> #<Tag:0x00007f29949d0930>

Hey Everyone

The 29 April 2019 design forum at 9:30pm IST | 7pm Nairobi | 6pm Cape Town | 4pm Accra | 12pm Boston | 9am Seattle will be focusing on Modular Front end Architecture.

What if we had a lightweight modular web framework allowing components or even full apps to run as a single page application? What if you could combine your implementation’s bespoke or Bahmni front end with a module from another organization or country? At OMRS18, we dreamed of many How might we…? scenarios including finding a path to a common application framework. An amazing future for OpenMRS proposed a pragmatic approach of having multiple organizations collaborate on a shared frontend to solve a real world need. Exploration of that proposal led us to micro frontends and to single-spa . @joeldenning, founder of single-spa and an expert on frontend technologies, will present a set of proposals for technical features of a modular frontend architecture.

Current Discussion Threads:

This is going to be a great conversation and we welcome all to attend on the following platforms:

Audio, Chat, & Screen Sharing (latest Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or other WebRTC-compatible browser)

Audio Only (Telephone or your favorite VoIP client)

2 Likes

@c.antwi somehow this meeting appears on Sunday 28th in OpenMRS calendar…

@mksd I have made the correction . :slight_smile:

Here’s a video that demystifies microfrontends with visuals. I’ll be going over it in more depth during the design review. The video is still being processed, but is available for download.

Video

1 Like

For those who may have forgotten or got confused by time zones, the call is happening right now!

If you missed the design forum, you can watch the video:

Notes available here.

3 Likes