WHO trauma registry module? (IRTEC)

hello! I searched the wiki and can’t find anything like this - I’m interested in any examples people can share about using OpenMRS to automate data collection for an injury/trauma patient registry, here’s an example of the type of registry we are using currently WHO IRTEC injury registry summary Feb2020.pdf - Google Drive

imagine that you’re implementing OpenMRS as your EMR in a hospital where you are currently manually abstracting the data from handwritten paper medical records for each relevant patient based on the elements in this form Rwanda Trauma reg Core Elements.pdf - Google Drive but you want to create templates for clinical documentation that will INCLUDE these elements and can be coded in a way that they can be easily identified and pulled into a dhis2 database that is the registry - I hope that makes sense, I’m just starting to learn OpenMRS

Basically, I want to know if anyone is working on this? no need to re-invent the wheel if so!

cc: @dkayiwa @ibacher @grace @ssmusoke @mksd @mozzy

1 Like

Hi @krebse welcome here.

That makes perfect sense and this is what we intend to tackle with the new-to-be-born OpenMRS 3.0 packages. @grace to tell you more about this :slight_smile:

One of the possible use cases for those packages is to become the OpenMRS corresponding packages of DHIS2’s analytics package, see here:

• EPI
  • HIV
  • Malaria
  • TB
  • RMNCAH

And many more, such as the one you suggested.

OpenMRS 3.0 packages are in the early days of their design, so no one is working on this as such. But that doesn’t mean that nobody out there has worked on encounter forms that cover some or all of WHO IRTEC. Not that I know of, @ball?

2 Likes

HI @krebse ,