Where are JavaScript files kept in an OpenMRS module

Am currently looking at the source codes for the database backup module. I will like to know where inside the module, JavaScript files are kept.

Example, where is this file “/dwr/interface/BackupFormController.js” .

Thank you

Is this of help? https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/docs/DWR+in+OpenMRS

1 Like

@dkayiwa Knows a lot more about this than I do, and may have given you exactly what you asked for, but the general topic caught my attention and I think others may be looking for an answer to that too.

Disclaimer: I’m still new to this too. I’ve been looking at this question in passing for awhile. These methods vary in “correctness” (some are probably considered “the wrong way to do it”, even by me), and ideally there are better ways for some of these approaches (though I have yet to find them).

In general, there are many correct answers, but only relative to the specific question you’re asking.

For the basics of Java Servlets in general, you may find this book helpful. Head First Servlets and JSP (also currently “free” with O’Reilly Safari if you have access through your college, University or ACM) gives some overview and introduction to basic servlets and JSP. Spring MVC 3.0 builds on top of java servlets, using annotations and various other boilerplate.

In an OpenMRS maven source tree: Generally in the “/resources/” subfolders of the omod component, generally “omod/src/main/webapp/resources/” in OpenMRS.

However, “omod/src/main/resources” is the more generic Java Web Application directory (and can still be used by developers) (Tomcat 7’s deployment details, this can vary by web container/server combo).