URGENT: OpenMRS and Access to COVID-19 EHR

Hello, firstly I would like to ask is there an email I can reach out to for OpenMRS because I am a first time user and wanted help with a few things

I am a junior undergraduate college student, currently in a remote research fellowship program, working an a project I developed that I was interested in. The project’s aim is to conduct a cross correlational study investigating how the novel coronavirus infection SARS-CoV-2, might underline the Kawasaki disease path genesis seen in young children across the United States.

The methodology aspect of my research would essentially require me to have access to electronic health records from a Children’s hospital. Given EHR data can be very messy and quite large to handle. Plus, there can be a long turnover time to get access to RWE (real-world evidence), I heard about OpenMRS and was wondering if this would be an alternative.

So essentially, my question is could you please help explain how this database works. Does it provide real health record data in the US and do you think I will be able to study a few COVID-19 and Kawaski disease cases with this database?

If so, could you please help clarify the exact steps I need to take to get started. I was navigating the site but got quite lost and confused and didn’t even where to begin. I don’t know which apps I need to download on my computer so if you could please specify that. Also, do I need to get an approved login to access the data, or how does HIPAA, privacy, and research play a role in this.

Look forward to hearing from you soon!