Re-deploying modules without webapp redeployment?

Hello all, I am new to OpenMRS so please bear with me.

I have setup the OpenMRS Ref App in the following way. I cloned the refappmod-distto module, and unzipped all the omods required for refapp. Also setup openmre-core. Now I pasted these omods which I extracted into the local OpenMrs folder into the ‘modules’ folder. To run OpenMRS, I go to openmre-core/webapp and run mvn jetty:run to get everything up and running

Here is the problem. I am tinkering around and making changes in modules like RESTWS and HTML form entry whose sources i have separately cloned. To test these changes, I have to run mvn clean install on the module source I modded.l, stop the current webapp instance, paste the new omod into the modules folder and restart the server

This is highly time-consuming and very unproductive.

I am looking for way to dynamically implement changes and have them visible directly I’m the webapp without stopping current instance and basically minimum overhead

I had spoken to @pascal regarding this over IRC but was unable to get a detailed response. Could anyone tell me, atleast in some detail what to do about this? I really need this setup ASAP thanks

PS: I am using Intellij, if that relevant

Check out these two wiki pages:

Thanks. I have a doubt here.

If I set the following in my openmrs-runtime.properties file:uiFramework.developmentFolder=/home/openmrs/code

where the ‘code’ folder contains all the module folder I am working on. I believe that development mode will be enabled for these correct?

Now, assuming I have a copy of the old .omods of the RESTWS module (which I am working on ) in the local OpenMRS/modules folder, I have done mvn jetty:run from openmrs-core/webapps and I have specified developement mode for this module as I mentioned

this old .omod will not clash with the development mode of this module?