Radiology Module Dcm4chee

HI, I am a student at San Francisco State University, working on Radiology module dcm4chee. I learned from Ivo today that he has contributed a lot on this module. Ivo, It was nice talking to you today, will keep updating you on my work. Thanks Tenzin

2 Likes

Hi @tibwangchuk,

yes was great talking to you too! And I am very happy to hear that you are going to work on the module for your MSc Thesis!!

Just to recap what we talked about and also to inform your supervisor @levine on what I’ve been doing so far.

My name is Ivo Ulrich and I am working at an Austrian Hospital IT company (Vamed), we are doing planning/installations of Hospital IT among it PACS/RIS systems (open source and commercial ones). There are very good open source PACS systems like dcm4chee, orthanc, clear canvas but there is no open source RIS system (as far as I know, at least no good one IMHO). I found the radiology module developed by Akhil Ravindran and thought that it is a very good base to develop further

The module can be found at:

Together with Georg (@bgevam) a student working part-time at my company we

• added the OpenMRS formatter style
  • added unit tests
  • added integration tests
  • added the module to the bamboo CI (thanks to @cintiadr)
  • added the module to travis CI so all tests run on every pull request
  • added the module to coveralls.io (test coverage rose from 0% to ~ 83% now)
  • used https://issues.openmrs.org/browse/RAD/ to make our work transparent, well documented, easy for others to contribute as well
  • fixed some bugs
  • upgraded the modules dependency on openmrs-core from 1.9.x to 1.11.4

Saptarshi (@sunbiz) also a former mentor on the project, was of great help to us and we are also working together to develop the module further.

I also created a puppet/vagrant project so others can easily setup a virtual machine with dcm4chee, openmrs, ready to deploy the freshly compiled radiology module: