How does OpenMRS stack up to leading proprietary MRSs?

Hi, I’m just getting into OpenMRS and am curious about this.

I’m wondering about performance and its feature set. Leaving the ethical qualification of being free software aside, does it work as well or better than proprietary alternatives, and why, exactly?

3 Likes

Besides being an international community of people trying to improve patient care through electronic medical record systems, OpenMRS is a platform for creating medical record systems. Only within the last year, with OpenMRS 2.0, have we started down the path of creating an “out of the box” EMR and that is still in its infancy.

OpenMRS has been used to create widely used EMRs within Kenya, Rwanda, Ghana, the Philippines, India, and Haiti to name a few. Given that the need for information management in clinical care in developing countries is massive and we don’t believe that there’s one solution that will everyone’s need, we are really only in competition with ourselves.

So, out of the box, OpenMRS really isn’t a complete solution for anyone (yet). Those who have adopted the platform to create EMR solutions have created systems that have been vetted in many countries and felt to be equal or superior to proprietary solutions. That is due, in large part, to the great work by teams in those various countries.

In general, we don’t recommend that people (or countries) select a particular EMR; rather, that they define the requirements and local need and then try to find the best solution to meet those needs. This is the process that countries like Kenya, Rwanda, the Philippines, etc. have done.

In short, anyone looking for a shrink-wrapped solution in a country that hasn’t already got a team providing an OpenMRS-based solution will probably be better off with a proprietary solution unless they are creating a strategy for the long-term and want to own their own solution, in which case OpenMRS might be worth investigating.

2 Likes