Help for newcomers

Hi,

I’m very new to the OpenMRS project, but during past few weeks I’ve been having many issues with installation and module development. Do you have any scheme of “mentoring” fresh members of community? Are there any senior devs, who can answer questions and support younger ones? There’s obviously talk.openmrs forum, but many of the issues i’ve been having were just some stupid mistakes that could be solved in 5 minutes, not deserving for opening a new thread, but I’ve spent very long time (in a few cases - hours) to solve them, just because I didn’t had some basic information. Tutorials on wiki don’t help either - in fact, most of the problems were caused by the fact that many of them are outdated or incomplete. I’m asking about something like ‘mentoring’ on GSoC, but for people not participating in that initiative.

Kind Regards Jack

One good resource for this is https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/RES/OpenMRS+University We paused those calls because the attendance was poor. On many instances, the teachers were in class with no students. So we are now changing our strategy by letting the students push for and organize the calls with their topics of interest. Here is an example of how you can get started with organizing for one. Choose a topic and date (a Wednesday) when you would love to have this dealt with. Post on openmrs talk asking for a teacher who will be available to teach the class. After getting a volunteer to teach the class, go head and announce that a university call is confirmed to be happening on that date. Take the responsibility of reminding the teacher when the call is about to start, just in case he or she forgets. You could also send out a reminder, on talk, calling upon other students, just about ten to five minutes before the call starts. This will be a good start and example for other students to take charge of these calls. Feel free to ask for anything that may not be clear.