FHIR OAuth Smart Apps Integration and OAuth module enhancements

Hi,

I am a Quantity Surveying Engineering Student from University Of Moratuwa. Although my field is quantity surveying at university, my passion was with computer science. I would like to push my boundaries and get exposed to the opensource community in this Gsoc 2016.

I am quite interested on the project FHIR OAuth Smart Apps Integration and OAuth module enhancements. I am quite familiar with Apache oltu, opensaml, xacml and little bit with Shibboleth. Talking about SSO, opensaml would be the best candidate to be used. That is to be discuees and decide. :slightly_smiling: Also I am quite familiar with the theories in OAuth2 and OpenID Connect.

@harsha89 This is my first time involvement in openmrs and Gsoc itself. There for your and community guidance will be highly appreciated to make this a success.

I went through the details about the existing oauth module and my thoughts (for a start) are as follows.

According to what I have found we have oauth2 implementation to support four grant types.

The main objective of the projects is as follows.

• Improve the existing module. There are some TODOs mentioned in java docs in @maany s repos. Have to identify what are the other improvements to be done.

• Give support for SMART apps to build on OpenMRS FHIR. AFAIK In doing so Authorization_Grant Type should be used.

• Build a demo smart application using the oauth module

For someone else who need resources on this topic, following are the resources I referred to. [3] courtesy @maany who has done a great job in Gsoc 2015

[1] https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/projects/Implement+the+OAuth2+Support+for+Web+Services+APIs [2] https://wiki.openmrs.org/display/projects/OpenMRS+OAuth2+module+-+for+Client+Developers [3] https://prezi.com/r1031do5msm5/openmrs-oauth2-module-ui-mockups-and-use-cases/

1 Like