Error creating patient for large location IDs.

Tags: #<Tag:0x00007f302bfac2d0>

OpenMRS Version: 1.9.2

Question: Hi Everyone,

I am newbie here… posting for the first time in OpenMRS talk. The issue which I’m facing is when I am trying to create a patient in OpenMRS (version 1.9.2), I get the following error message.

As according to this part of the error below, it seems that the location ID of values greater than 1000 are being converted to string. And I have tried this for several location IDs greater than 1000… same error occurs each time.

Any suggestions on this would be highly appreciated. If this issue still persists in OpenMRS, shall I create a ticket for this?

Many thanks…

Do you know how the number has a comma in it? I have never seen that happen before. Is it done custom code of yours?

E.g. instead is 1,440 it should be 1440.

Dear Darius,

That is what I’m unable to figure out that why is it converting it to string… No, it is not customized code. I’m creating a patient from OpenMRS from the ‘Create Patient’ link. Any insight into this would be highly appreciated, as it is blocking our project to function properly. Thanks

Are you able to reproduce this on OpenMRS versions 1.9.9?

This issue can’t be observed unless we have over 1000 locations in the system, which probably doesn’t happen for most of the OpenMRS installations.

Tahira, can you please try to reproduce on 1.9.9, as Daniel suggested?

If you do not have those many locations, just create one new location, go to the database and change its id to that value.

Another question, does it work well if you choose one that has a location of a lower id?

It works for locations lower than 1000. I’ll try to reproduce this error on OpenMRS 1.9.9.

While testing on 1.9.9 still remains, I was able to reproduce the same on 1.11.4. You can just execute “alter table location auto_increment = 1000” to quicken the process.

Just confirmed. Adding the following test to LocationEditorTest fails the test: