GSOD 2020: Developing a Suite of Volunteer Guides

Hello All!

I am by name Nsereko Joshua, i would like to join the Documentation team, and work on this project. I have no experience but i am willing to learn.

I request for more information on how best i can get started. Your help will be much appreciated.

cc @jwnasambu , @jennifer and anyone who would wish to join the conversation.

1 Like

lets link up tomorrow during the documentation call at 4pm EAT on uberconference

1 Like

Thanks for starting a thread on this GSOD project, @jnsereko!

There are a many different ways to contribute to OpenMRS. You can pick up tickets, join a sprint, help with documentation, help a squad or team, etc. We also have some defined roles that community members can take on. Some are associated with and defined by squads or teams while others are more general, community roles. For instance, GSoC and GSoD have admins and co-admins. Each release usually has a Release Manager. The QA Team has a QA Lead. We also have a Software Security Lead, Community Development Lead, etc.

The idea behind this project is to create a set of volunteer guides that can help newcomers and existing community members learn about different volunteer roles, how to take one one, and what to expect. Hereā€™s a link to the original post.

More recently, @loisnaki has been working on a guide for organizing outreach activities to attract new people to OpenMRS. As a part of those discussions, there have been some questions about these guides and how they can be used to guide volunteer follow up and retention.

This is a great time to explore the scope and approach to GSOD projects like this one, so donā€™t feel that you need to limit yourself to these initial scope ideas. Feel free to brainstorm new ideas and ask questions that will help you craft your proposal.

4 Likes

Hello Team,