Bahmni Wiki documentation of the "local" installation file

I’m a newbie here, so maybe this is better documented somewhere else and there’s simply no link to some awesome documentation?

I went to try to learn about the Bahmni installation using the Bahmni wiki. In the process, I discovered some items that were a bit old compared with the current state (v 0.91) and made a few updates. I also discovered that the “local” file (see next paragraph) appears to identify which bahmni components to install, which are to be used in-situ, and which are to not be installed. At least, I think that’s what it’s for. I had to do a LOT of reading between the lines. I also discovered that commenting on the wiki pages is discouraged and people are encouraged to post their comments to OpenMRS talk. So, that’s what I did. And if you’d rather I took this all back to the wiki page where I thought it should go, I’m happy to do that, too.

The wiki page for “advanced installation” indicates, in an alert box, that users should “enter IP addresses only in the inventory file. Domain names are not supported yet and are known to cause issues.” But a cursory examination of the “local” inventory-file shows that there are many entries that are not IP addresses (or domain names), so clearly it is okay to enter information other than server IP addresses. Even the use of ‘localhost’ rather than 127.0.0.1 (the IP address for localhost) belies the comment that users should only enter IP addresses. I.e. the alert box is probably misleading and confusing in its wording. I think it’s trying to alert users to not put any domain names in the file because Bahmni’s DNS isn’t working. But that’s a whole lot different from “only enter IP addresses.”